After life calmed down a bit, as we have adjusted to having 3 kids, we (Joshua and I) decided to make a huge change. Joshua has effectively become a “stay at home papa”, as we call it at our house, over the last month! This is hopefully a permanent job position for him. Joshua jumped at the chance to help grow our business by providing me with the space and time I need to run a business, and not to just run Little Neetchers, but to run it well.

Man, I have to admit, the first couple weeks were hard! We both had to make big changes to allow for each other to do our new jobs well. For me, the hard part was letting go of all the stuff that I considered “my job”, and let him explore new ways of doing things, from new recipes to new parenting ideas.

486460_10150870063421595_1691450896_n

The best part, my afternoon breaks! This is where I get to spend time with my kids. This should be what small businesses are about…family! Our goal is to grow the business, but not at the expense of our family.

While growing up my dad was a truck driver. He worked crazy hours at a job he sort of liked. He did the best he could to make the time he had with us count (and for that I am grateful!), but now that it’s my family and my kids, I want something better. This small business means that to our family. We have a chance to do things different! We have an opportunity to grow something out of nothing, to involve our kids in what we are doing, and have a lot of time together! Really, this is what I had envisioned in the beginning, I was just to scared to take the leap.

I’m still scared, really, if I’m honest with myself. Who knows, I could fail, the business could flop, and my balloon could burst, but this is worth the risk! The last few weeks have been awesome. I’d like to keep it that way!

We have some great news coming up and I can’t wait to show you some stuff I have been working on for over a year now.  I’ll keep you posted!

